Christmas DIY * Santa Wine Glass

You guys went crazy for my pumpkin wine glasses that I posted in my fall favorites and I am happy to share my latest wine glass DIY of Santa! This will make the perfect Christmas gift and it is so super cheap to make that you could give a whole set of them if you like. Also someone mentioned turning it into a fun girls night project and I love that idea!

DIY wine glasses.png

Supplies Needed

  • long stem wine glass, I got mine at Dollar Tree
  • red, black, white and metallic gold acrylic paint, I got mine at Hobby Lobby
  • paint brushes, I got an assortment at Hobby Lobby
  • rubbing alcohol and a cotton ball

First you want to soak a cotton ball in rubbing alcohol and wipe down your glass to get rid of any grease that may be on the cup. After that you can start painting the glass with the red paint. Always make sure that you leave room from the top so that you are not touching the paint when you actually drink out of the glass. When painting the glass red I used a straight edge brush and used that to create my line at the top, I also made sure to leave even more room for the white paint we will be putting on top of the red. You MUST let the paint dry completely before starting the next coat otherwise it will pull the paint off of the glass. If you are in a time crunch you could use a blowdryer to dry the glasses faster. You will need to do at least 2 coats of red, I had more time and liked the look of 3 coats so that’s what I did with mine, it’s all about preference.

Once the red is dry you can paint a thick black line, the belt, around the glass. I started with one thin line across and then added thickness to try and make it as even as possible. You can also take your dabber and dab on the white on top as well as the bottom of the the wine glass. Another option for the bottom of the wine glass would be black paint to make it his boots, again all about preference.

Once the black is dry you can paint in the belt buckle using the gold paint and using the end of the larger paintbrush make the white dots for the holes in the belt.

To finish the glass and make sure you can wash it without the paint coming off let air dry for 24 hours then set the glasses in the oven and then set the oven to 350 degrees and let them bake for 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes turn the oven off, but leave the glasses cool completely in the oven. Allow 72 hours for glasses to completely cure before using them.

I hope you guys enjoyed this project and I can’t wait till next weeks project! This DIY Christmas series has to be one of my favorite things I’ve done on the blog. I hope you all have a great Thanksgiving tomorrow and please let me know if you make the wine glasses, I would love to see them!

Signature

10 thoughts on “Christmas DIY * Santa Wine Glass

  1. I tried this and its absolutely awesome!!! 100% suggest doing this for mom or grandma, and I had such a fun time doing it. I already had most of this stuff except the wine glass. I got the wine glass from Home Goods for 3 bucks!!! Keep in mind there was a sale and it is christmas eve! Its super easy and only took me an hour to paint.

  2. Thank you for the tutorial. Every other site I’ve seen just wants to sell them. I needed to know if special paint was required. Fabulous idea for inexpensive gifts.

Leave a comment