DIY Ornament Wreath

Last year after Christmas I had an idea in my mind of the crafts I wanted to make for the next holiday, this saved me major moola as I was able to buy a lot of things on clearance that I knew I would need. Of course waiting for things to go on clearance means you don’t always get exactly what you want. As most of you know, if you follow me on instagram, I am recently obsessed with gold. Last Christmas I made a coffee filter wreath with gold accents and I think that’s where it all started. In my dream world the ornament wreath for our door would be all different shades of gold, but alas those ornaments were long gone so instead I got brightly colored pinks, greens and blues. This is by far the easiest & cheapest craft I’ve done recently. Hobby Lobby currently has all of their Christmas items on sale for 50% off so you should be able to still keep this inexpensive AND get the colors you want!

photo 2

I took a wire hanger from my husbands closet and used pliers to pull it apart. From there I hot glued to tops on all of the ornaments to make sure that they didn’t fall off the wreath once placed. Once all your tops have been hot glued you can start sliding the ornaments on the hanger whatever way you like. I tried alternating colors but as you can see once they all bunch up a lot of the similar colors look like they were placed right next to each other. I used about 40 ornaments to make this, I bought 2 25 count cylinders of ornaments because other projects I saw said I would need about 80. I think it depends on your hanger. Looking at my wreath in the house I thought it was going to be way too small, but once I placed it on our door I was happily surprised. Once you have all your ornaments on your wreath you can take your pliers and twist the end around again. I had Mr. H help me with this part and the hook part actually broke off so he had to really be creative. He made it work and saved me the step of putting on a bow to hide the part that doesn’t have ornaments!

photo 1

This is a seriously quick and easy way to add some holiday cheer to your house, inside or out! I would love to see the wreaths that you all come up with this year. I have so many fun and festive things coming up on the blog so keep checking back for more cheerful ideas!

I Heart Nap Time

craftionary

13 thoughts on “DIY Ornament Wreath

  1. Pingback: 20 Ornament Ideas {Link Party Features} I Heart Nap Time | I Heart Nap Time - Easy recipes, DIY crafts, Homemaking

  2. Pingback: Thursday Weekly Creative and Features {12/12} - Craftionary

Leave a comment