Patriotic Door Decoration

I’ve been pinning tons of stuff for Memorial Day/4th of July and when I saw this pin, I knew I could easily recreate it. Not to mention that I could make it for way less than $50. I got all my supplies at Hobby Lobby and honestly the most expensive things was the mesh for $7.99 and I used a 40% off coupon on that.

Patriotic Door Hanger


  • 3 wooden stars .99 each
  • red, white & blue paint .77 each
  • patriotic ribbon $2.99
  • patriotic mesh $7.99
  • paintbrush $4.99 (I got a big packet of different brushes & used the foam brush to paint the stars, and a small brush for the letters)
  • Drill
  • Floral wire (had this on hand)


  1. Paint stars solid color & let dry
  2. Paint outer edges and letters onto stars & let dry
  3. Drill hole in top of all 3 stars, drill hole in bottom of U and S
  4. Use ribbon to create loop for top of hanger.
  5. Thread ribbon through stars and knot behind star to have them hang
  6. Loop mesh 3 times then twist with floral wire to create bow. I used this video to learn.
  7. Take some extra floral wire and twist the bow onto the loop at top of hanger.
  8. I also sprayed mine with some acrylic sealer, but I don’t think it’s going to make any difference

photo 2 photo 4


I am so in love with how this came out and it’s perfect to keep up all summer long! I’ve already been asked to make some more and I have tons of leftover supplies so all I really need to buy is more stars to make another.


24 thoughts on “Patriotic Door Decoration

  1. Cute door decor! This would be perfect for the Patriot’s Palooza party that I’m cohosting with 4 other bloggers. We’re asking our bloggy friends to link up anything patriotic in honor of Memorial Day. I hope you’ll stop by!

    Navy Wifey Peters
    Patriot’s Palooza Patry

  2. Hi Mandy – What a great way to welcome guests at your door! Thank you for joining our Patriot’s Palooza party and Happy Memorial Day. Hugs, Holly

Leave a Reply

