Five on Friday

[ONE]

I wanted today’s Five on Friday to be about health, not just physical but mental as well. Probably around 2 years ago I started realizing that I just needed to be true to myself and if someone isn’t happy with that then they don’t need to be in my life. This way of thinking has totally transformed my life! That’s not to say that I haven’t lost anyone in my life and everything is hunky-dory. Because I have decided to stay true to myself I have lost friends along with family members. I had a dream the other night where I was at Christmas with all my family members and all their faces were black and when I woke up it really hit hard for me because every year Christmas with my family was my favorite thing and I no longer see them at all. While I go through times of self-doubt and think that maybe if I just change a little everything will be better, I know that I won’t be happy and honestly at the end of the day that’s what truly matters most to me. I will say that these past 2 years have been the best for me in every possible way so something is definitely working here!

photo

[TWO]

I am on week 2 of no carbs and I have not cheated once with pasta or rice! This is a huge accomplishment for me and I am down 3.4 pounds in my dietbet, only 4.4 more to go!

[THREE]

I watched the announcement for 14.2 last night at the box with everyone and I am actually really excited to try the workout tonight. I am not competing in the open, but last week Friday nights regular class did the workout so I am assuming that we will continue this pattern. Last weeks workout was snatches and double unders. I had never done snatches before at all, but killed it at those (granted my weight was scaled down). I wasn’t able to get a double under in my workout on Friday, but then this Monday I was able to get my first double under and I am excited to start stringing them together.

644161_824051570944904_760656060_n

[FOUR]

Mental health update: the realtor finally emailed us houses on Wednesday night and asked us to drive by them before we tell her which ones we want to go look at. We drove by one of the more expensive ones that wasn’t on her list, but that Mr. H found and I have to say that while it is 30 minutes away from where we live now I really liked the look of it. Saturday we plan on driving by 11 more houses on our list. Since I couldn’t sleep last night I stayed up all night looking at houses online and added 26 more houses to that list! Granted some of them are too far north, but the price is so good that we may just need to make a concession.

[FIVE]

I will admit that I have been extremely bored at my job and questioned my move, but I am happy to report that this week marked my takeover of some new responsibilities and I am hoping that it will continue to keep me busy (although I am not sure how this will bode for the blog.) Mr. H also took a test this week to obtain some licensing for his job that will hopefully result in a raise, so things are looking up professionally for us!

Signature

8 thoughts on “Five on Friday

  1. That’s awesome that you’re getting some new responsibilities at work – it’s really hard when you spend the majority of your time somewhere – where you just don’t feel 100% satisfied!! yay for house hunting!! Hope the drive provides you with some more answers! Happy weekend!

  2. Congrats on the weight loss. Love that first quote. I looked at a lot of houses before finding my house, so keep looking you will find that perfect one for you both.

  3. I think putting your mental health first is so important, and even though losing people hurts sometimes it really is for the best! Good luck with all those houses you plan to see!

  4. Kudos to you for taking a step to make your health a priority! I could not handle no carbs! Kudos to you! Good luck looking at all those houses! Sounds fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

