In the Kitchen – Not Your Mother’s Meatballs

I’m not Italian, but I take meatballs very seriously. I think it’s because for as long as I can remember meatballs and spaghetti has been a dinner tradition. When I was younger my mom would always make them on the night that my dad had bowling and then when I moved out and started cooking dinners I made sure that it was always on my weekly meal plan. Then I realized that maybe I was eating too much pasta and to me you can’t have meatballs without pasta.

I’ve found a way to brighten up my meatballs so that we can still enjoy them without feeling like we just overloaded on carbs. I will say that I don’t measure anything when I make my meatballs so these are all guesses and you can play around with it to make them to your liking.

IMG_2185

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon italian seasoning
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 10 oz chopped spinach (I use frozen and then ring it dry with paper towels) you want this as dry as possible
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 tablespoon oregano
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 squirts of sriracha sauce

Mix all the ingredients together and roll into balls, cook at 450° for 30 minutes. In another pan heat up pasta sauce and add meatballs that while it’s heating. Serve over spaghetti squash or ziti! I hope you guys love these as much as I do!

Signature

24 thoughts on “In the Kitchen – Not Your Mother’s Meatballs

  1. YUM!! I really love meatballs too – usually opt for the easy way and get the frozen turkey ones from Trader Joe’s (and cook in the crock pot for some great dinners)!! I’m gonna have to try this!!

    • Would you believe I’ve never had frozen meatballs! My mom always made homemade ones my whole life and now I just make a ton at a time and freeze them myself!

  2. Hi! I’m CJ stopping by from the Her & Nicole link-up! Your blog looks wonderful! I linked my blogspot blog on the link-up, but I have a WordPress blog, too! Count me as one of your newest followers! Happy to meet you!

  3. Love meat balls…Only I do not eat red meat, so use lean ground turkey…and I love sneaking in some veggies {shh, don’t tell the kids} 🙂 I was wondering what to do for dinner tonight…these look might tasty 🙂

    • I use the kind you sprinkle on your pasta, but it truly doesn’t matter & I make all different sizes, I just grab a handful of meat and start rolling, you should be able to roll it in the palm of your hand comfortably.

  4. We just got a pound of ground round. I might have to try this. Wish I had the sriracha sauce on hand to give it that extra kick. Might have to substitute with red pepper flakes or something until I grab some at the store. Yum! Thanks for sharing at My Favorite Things Theresa @DearCreatives

  5. Happy to have you as part of {hub}LINKS this week. My husband loves ANYTHING sriracha so I am sure we will be testing out this recipe soon.

Leave a Reply

