In the Kitchen – Apple Pie

I totally failed this weekend taking pictures, we had Thanksgiving with my dad and that was definitely an experience! His house is very small for what they like to call the Brady Bunch, but we managed. Having everyone together really got me thinking about Christmas and how we are supposed to entertain my dad, his girlfriend’s family, and my husband’s family.

Speaking of Thanksgiving and Christmas, I can’t believe that I never posted my apple pie! I made it back before Halloween and I am proud to say that it was my first time ever making a pie and I think I did a dang good job! I mean I’m not saying that it was the prettiest pie ever, but I heard it tasted awesome and that’s all that matters to me on the first try. When my grandmother passed away I was blessed to inherit all of her cookbooks and handwritten recipes. I used an old Betty Crocker cookbook for the entire recipe. Serve this pie warm with some vanilla ice cream and it will be a grand slam!

photo 1 photo 2

photo 3

Pastry Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons shortening
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 to 5 tablespoons cold water
  • 1 teaspoon salt (I always omit salt from my recipes, but this is up to you)

Directions

  1. Cut shortening into flour and salt until particles are size of small peas
  2. Sprinkle in water, 1 tablespoon at a time, tossing with fork until all flour is moistened
  3. Gather pastry into ball; split pastry into 2 equal halves
  4. Roll out pastry 2 inches larger than pie plate
  5. Fold pastry into quarters; unfold and ease into plate, pressing firmly against bottom and side.

Pie Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 6 cups thinly sliced pared tart apples
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 425 degrees
  2. Mix sugar, flour, nutmeg, and cinnamon.
  3. Stir in apples.
  4. Pour into pastry lined pie plate; dot with butter.
  5. Cover top with pastry & cut slits
  6. Cover edge with aluminum foil; remove foil during last 15 minutes of baking
  7. Bake 40 to 50 minutes
Leave a Reply

