In the Kitchen – Crockpot Beef Stew

It seems the blogging world has all decided that Sunday is soup day and I am no exception! This past Sunday I was crazy in the kitchen and whipped up quite a few things for the week, my favorite being this beef stew.

photo 1

A couple years ago when my grandmother was in the hospital and our whole family was staying there with her a woman from my grandmothers church brought beef stew in for everyone to have dinner since none of us could even think about leaving the hospital and making dinner. It was the first time I ever had beef stew (I know strange right?!) and it was the best thing ever! I’ve held off on making my own for years because I didn’t think anything could compare to this woman’s stew , but I finally tried this past weekend and while it wasn’t exactly how hers was, it was still pretty damn good!

 

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds beef stew
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon worcestershire sauce
  • 1 onion chopped (I used my Ninja to really chop this)
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 3 potatoes sliced into pieces of your choosing
  • 4 carrots chopped
  • 1 celery stalk chopped

Directions

  1. Place beef in crock pot
  2. Mix flour, salt and pepper
  3. Pour over meat and stir to coat meat well
  4. Add in all other ingredients
  5. Cook on high for for 4-6 hours or low for 10-12 hours

 

I love a super simple recipe that can just be thrown in the crock pot and forgotten. No extra steps before putting everything in the crock pot and not a ton of dishes that need to be cleaned. I turn this on in the morning before we leave for work and it’s done when I walk in the door and provides leftovers for the next couple days. Garnish your soup however you want, you know we love cheese over here so we had to throw some Cheddar Jack on there! Have some great crusty bread on the side and you’ve got yourself a meal!

soup

Leave a Reply

