In the Kitchen – Butter Crunch

Let me preface this post by stating that I forgot how time consuming candy making is! That being said, the end result is most definitely worth it. (Side note, please be careful when making this as the candy gets extremely hot & you will get severely burned. And yes I am speaking from experience)

Ever since our trip to Vermont I had been craving the wonderful butter crunch we had at Rainbow Sweets & even though I had never even heard of it before we went I figured I could come pretty close to recreating it. After a couple days of constantly thinking about what actually goes into the recipe I had a light bulb go off as I was driving to work. I love those moments when I actually say YES out loud to myself, it happens way too often.

20130904-073524.jpg

Ingredients
– 1 cup butter
– 1 cup sugar
– 3 tablespoons water
– 1 tablespoon light corn syrup
– dark chocolate chips (use as little or as much as you’d like)
– candy thermometer

Directions
1. Line a glass dish with tinfoil to make breaking the candy easier
2. In a large saucepan, with the candy thermometer attached to the side, melt the 1 cup of butter
3. Add the sugar, water and corn syrup. Stir together with the heat on low.
4. Continually stir candy until it reaches 300 degrees, hard crack stage, this process on low heat will take about an hour. You can turn the heat up to medium but just remember to stir and keep an eye on your candy because you DO NOT want to burn this!
5. Make sure you unclip your thermometer (I forgot this step and ended up with candy all over the floor) and pour candy quickly into your dish.
6. The candy will harden relatively quickly, while it’s cooling you can melt the chocolate chips and spread the chocolate over the hardened candy.
7. Once everything has completely hardened the fun can begin! Go ahead and smash that candy into pieces, whatever you feel is the best size for you!

This candy was awesome & seriously dangerous for my waistline! I put a lot of chocolate on top of ours and while it was really good I think next time I will put just a thin layer of chocolate on top to really let the candy shine.

Let me know if you make this & how it came out!!

2 thoughts on “In the Kitchen – Butter Crunch

  1. Pingback: Butter Crunch Candy Pieces

Leave a Reply

