Pinterest Project – Pallet Table

Here it is August and I’m just now bringing you this awesome pallet table, BUT in my defense we did start the project in June and finish in July. I’m just a slow poster! Last fall when we were cleaning up outside and putting all of our summer stuff away a terrible tragedy occurred (and oddly enough, not for the first time). Our glass table shattered into a million pieces. I didn’t worry about it too much since we weren’t going to be using it anytime soon anyways and I already been inspired by this post to try making my own table for the next summer. Well Mr. H being the best husband ever came home one day with TONS of pallets for me to choose from. I was pretty excited and decided that any table we made had to be pretty big as we are always hosting outdoor BBQ’s for everyone during the summer. After all was said and done we had this beauty!

 

photo-26

 

We used 4 pallets for this & I decided that I didn’t want to leave the pallets natural so I stained them in the color “Ebony” and let me tell you how horrible it was getting all the nooks and crannies! I HIGHLY suggest staining before you put anything together as it will make it easier to maneuver the pallet to get the harder to reach spots. You don’t have to stain the table but to me it just looked more pulled together. We bought 4 wheels from Home Depot (they said they could hold up to 100 lbs I believe) We wanted the table to be easy to move since we are hoping to bring this with us once we move into a new house. To connect the pallets together we used a 2ft 2×4 and screwed it into both pallets seamlessly. We weren’t very scientific when it came time to figure out how tall to make the table, we literally stood by another table and measured my leg! We used 6 4×4’s for the legs as we wanted to make sure the table was stable and wouldn’t wobble at all. Home Depot will cut the 4×4’s for you if you have your height figured out before you go and buy them which is great if you don’t have a chop saw to use at home.

I absolutely love the table and it has worked great for the cookouts we’ve had so far! People we’re a little concerned about things falling through, but suprisingly nothing did! Mr. H and I both agree that we should cut a hole in the middle for an umbrella but alas I think that may be for next summer as my mind is already on fall projects! It’s hard to keep my mind on summer when everyone is posting about fall, as much as I love fall (it’s my favorite season ever, along with everyone else it seems) I think I’m going to wait until at least September to say it has arrived. I will let August be summer………for now.

I know this wasn’t super detailed so let me know if you have any questions, but truly this project is super easy and can be modified to fit anyone’s needs!

Leave a Reply

