In the Kitchen – Deep Fried Munchkins

For Christmas Mr. H finally got me a deep fryer & I couldn’t wait to dive in and start using it. I had seen so many recipes on the web that involved deep fryers and sure I could have used a wok to create the recipe but it just didn’t seem the same. Growing up my mother had a deep fryer and I just loved watching her make fries and how crunchy they would be, I could never get my fries to be crunch in the oven.

Now we don’t have a Tim Horton’s anywhere near us, but seeing the pictures Leanne posted of her donut creation had me drooling. The look of Leann’s also reminded me of munchkins at Dunkin Donuts which I love, but never buy for myself. These tasted amazing and served as breakfast for the week since I made mine much smaller than Leanne’s. The only issue I had was that I had made fries the nights before and didn’t filter my oil before making these so they had a hint of fry flavor.

photo 1-8

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 3 tbsp boiling water
  • 1 tsp dry active yeast
  • 8 oz plain flour (about 2 cups) I recommend using a kitchen scale instead of measuring cups for a more accurate measurement!
  • 1 1/2 oz sugar (about 3 tablespoons)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 oz butter, cold to room temperature (DO NOT MELT THIS!)
  • dash of salt
  • Enough oil to cover the bottom few inches of a wok, or a deep fryer.

Directions:

  1.  In a large bowl combine the milk and boiling water
  2.  Add a teaspoon of the sugar
  3.  Add yeast, stir gently then let sit in a warm place for yeast to activate (foam)
  4.  In another large bowl combine flour, rest of sugar and the salt
  5.  Cut in the butter using your fingers or a pastry blender until your mixture is crumbly
  6.  Quickly beat egg and add to flour mix
  7.  Add in yeast mixture as well
  8.  Mix into a smooth dough, this should take about 5 minutes
  9.  On a lightly floured surface knead dough for about 5 to 10 minutes
  10.  Place back in bowl, cover with a cloth or plastic wrap & let it rise for about an hour or until it is double in size (this took a little over an hour for mine, but my house is usually pretty cool)
  11. Cut the dough into 4 pieces. Take one piece at a time and stretch into a long rope about an inch wide.
  12.  Cut strips about an inch long and ball them up. Place them on a baking tray
  13.  Cover the munchkins with a cloth while you heat your oil to 375F
  14.  Place munchkins into oil and fry until golden color is achieved
  15.  Drain on paper towel
  16.  Pour glaze over the munchkins while still warm so that it will cover whole munchkin.

Glaze Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 4 tablespoons hot water or as needed (I only need 2 tablespoons)

Commenters on Leanne Bakes were sort of mixed on the final outcome, some people had a horrible time making them while others raved so I was a little hesitant, but I had no issues making these whatsoever and I urge you to try them also! Visit Leanne Bakes to also see her Cinnamon Sugar-Coated donuts.

I hope you enjoyed this recipe & follow me on Pinterest to pick what I make next!

One thought on “In the Kitchen – Deep Fried Munchkins

Leave a Reply

