In the Kitchen – Healthy Egg McMuffins

There is always a crazy rush in the morning before leaving for work between Mr. H and I. (Mostly because I sleep in until the last possible second, I am not a morning person!) Usually I end up running out of the house without breakfast and lucky to have grabbed a drink. Mr. H usually does the same, but grabs breakfast from his favorite cafe or Dunkin Donuts. Well not eating breakfast is not so great for you & buying breakfast every morning can really add up quickly so this year one of my resolutions was to try to be more prepared so the mornings go a little smoother as well as save a little money. I had seen these make-ahead healthy egg mcmuffins quite some time ago on pinterest but sort of forgot about them until last Sunday when I realized we needed breakfast for the week. The great thing about these egg mcmuffins is that they are totally customizable to your taste. I like my food more plain while Mr. H needs more than just an egg and cheese, so I made them plain and then in the morning when you reheat them Mr. H just adds what he wants. It doesn’t hurt that these make at home egg mcmuffins will also save you some calories, which I’m sure is on every resolutioners check list right now.

 

egg

 

Ingredients:

  • eggs
  • english muffins
  • american cheese
  • salt & pepper

Directions:

  1. Cook eggs in jumbo muffin tin or ramekins (regular muffin tins work but the egg will be smaller and quite thick like mine)
  2. You can break the yolk so that you get a more authentic taste like McD’s
  3. bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes
  4. while eggs are baking separate muffins & place cheese slice on bottom muffin
  5. once eggs are done you can place on top of cheese & wrap individually in tin foil.

You can add bacon, sausage or whatever you’d like at this point as well. Place them in the freezer and just defrost in the fridge the night before you want one. I place mine in the toaster oven for about 10 minutes in the morning and then add salt and pepper to taste.

 

I hope you enjoyed this quick make ahead breakfast! I have been loving bringing these to work and eating breakfast on my own time and not rushing to eat at 5 am. I can’t wait to post what I have cooking in the kitchen next week. One of my resolutions was actually for the blog! I will be introducing The Baking Challenge 2013 next weekend & explaining my thoughts behind it.

Follow me on Pinterest & pick what I make next!

 

One thought on “In the Kitchen – Healthy Egg McMuffins

Leave a Reply

