In the Kitchen – Skinny “Fried” Chicken

A couple of weeks ago Mr. H & I decided to both start weight watchers and stick with it. I did it 2 years ago with a friend and did pretty well on it, but without someone to do it with I slowly lost interest. Mr. H eats pretty healthy for the most part & works out everyday, I on the other hand am the pickiest eater this side of the Mississippi & hate the gym. Being such a picky eater made weight watchers pretty hard the first time around & I really just didn’t eat much. Thanks to my introduction to the wonderful world of blogging this time around I’ve been able to make amazing meals that both of us enjoy while still sticking to the point system & feeling satisfied. A month ago I got the email for the Crazy Cooking Challenge saying that this months challenge was fried chicken & I immediately knew which recipe I wanted to test. I found this recipe on 3 Fat Chicks on a Diet. The comments had me worried that the chicken was going to be too dry if I didn’t add extra, but I didn’t want to add extra calories to something if it wasn’t necessary & let me just say I am so happy that I didn’t! The chicken turned out amazing & is being written in my recipe book as soon as I am done here! I even ended up making my own poultry seasoning since that wasn’t something I had on hand. I made just plain white rice to go with it because I needed something quick, but this would be great with mashed potatoes or corn & a biscuit.

photo-2-5

Ingredients:

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 1 cup cornflake crumbs
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp poultry seasoning (recipe for this will be below)
  • 1/2 cup skim milk

Directions:

  1. Combine cornflake crumbs & seasonings in shallow bowl.
  2. Soak chicken in milk.
  3. Coat chicken in crumbs.
  4. Place on baking sheet, sprayed with nonstick spray, bake at 400 for 25 minutes

Poultry Seasoning Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp marjoram
  • 2 tbsp savory
  • 2 tsp parsley
  • 1 1/2 tsp thyme
  • pinch rosemary
  • pinch onion powder
  • 1 tbsp sage (I did not add this to mine as I did not have any on hand)

Visit the Crazy Cooking Challenge to see the rest of the amazing Fried Chicken recipes & make sure to click on mine #30 to have it featured!
Photobucket

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

12 thoughts on “In the Kitchen – Skinny “Fried” Chicken

  1. One of my favorite chicken recipes is from Weight Watchers and I don’t even follow them anymore! This recipe looks really good. I will have to put this on my list!

  2. After looking into a number of the articles on your web page, I really like
    your way of writing a blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark website list
    and will be checking back in the near future.

    Please visit my web site too and let me know your opinion.

Leave a Reply

