In the Kitchen-Baked Sweet & Sour Chicken

The husband & I are on a strict & tight budget which means we don’t get to go out to eat as much as we used to. Mr. H recently made a comment saying he was surprised we hadn’t caved yet and gotten chinese, which got me REALLY craving it of course. I had seen a recipe on Pinterest for sweet & sour chicken & decided to give it a try. This weeks recipe comes from Life as a Lofthouse.

Ingredients:

Chicken coating:

  • 4 boneless chicken breasts
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 cup cornstarch
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup canola oil (I used vegetable oil because thats all I had)
Sweet & Sour Sauce:
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 4 tbs ketchup
  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 1 tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tsp garlic salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees
  2. Rinse chicken breasts and then cut into cubes (this was my favorite part)
  3. Season chicken with salt & pepper (I did this very sparingly)
  4. Dip chicken into cornstarch & make sure covered well
  5. Then dip chicken into eggs
  6. In a large skillet heat oil & cook chicken until browned but not fully cooked through
  7. Place chicken in greased cooking dish
  8. Mix sweet & sour sauce in bowl & pour evenly over chicken
  9. Bake for one hour turning chicken every 15 minutes

Now Mr. H ate the chicken along with some fried rice that I made, but I must admit that I did not eat this. The smell of the sweet & sour sauce was just too much for me & Mr. H did say that he thinks there was too much vinegar in it. The comments at the Lofthouse have people raving about it, so maybe I screwed something up? All I know is that I’m still craving chinese!

Follow me on Pinterest & pick the next thing I make In the Kitchen!

Leave a Reply

