In the Kitchen – National Popcorn Day

In case you didn’t already know, today is National Popcorn Day aka HEAVEN. I am a huge popcorn lover and basically could live off the stuff! I think my addiction with popcorn started at a young age because my mom had an air popper and it was just so amazing to watch the popcorn be made. I have been talking about buying myself an air popper for ages and then finally for Christmas Mr. H bought me a brand new one. (I was talking about thrifting one weeks before Christmas) Since then I make popcorn at least twice a week. The best thing about air popping your own popcorn is that you can make it as healthy (or not) as you’d like. So today to celebrate the most joyous of days I have TWO recipes for you.

National Popcorn Day

First we have Brown Sugar Popcorn which I may or may not have devoured the entire bowl.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup popcorn kernels
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 13 large marshmallows
  • 1/8 cup light corn syrup

Directions

  1. Pop your kernels and set popcorn aside (make sure to pick out unpopped kernels as I always forget & it’s not fun biting one)
  2. On low heat melt butter, brown sugar, vanilla extract, marshmallows and corn syrup
  3. Pour melted mixture over popcorn and gently stir until all popcorn is coated

brown sugar popcorn

Next we have Parmesan Ranch Popcorn, which is the perfect blend of buttery and cheesy.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup popcorn kernels
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Ranch seasoning
  • 1/2 cup butter

Directions

  1. Pop popcorn and set aside
  2. Melt butter and pour over popcorn, tossing so that it is all coated
  3. Spread popcorn on baking sheet and sprinkle Parmesan cheese and Ranch seasoning over popcorn (you can use as much or as little as you like)
  4. Bake at 350 for 5 minutes
  5. Alternately you don’t have to bake it, you can just keep the popcorn in the bowl and toss the cheese and ranch in the bowl with the butter

Parmesan Ranch Popcorn

Inspiration for Brown Sugar PopcornΒ / Inspiration for Parmesan Ranch Popcorn

Signature

12 thoughts on “In the Kitchen – National Popcorn Day

  1. Oh, I simply adore popcorn and I swear it makes up more of my diet then it probably should (but why it tastes soooo good and is actually good for you, is it such a bad thing?!?). I think I may just have to try out that brown sugar popcorn sometime very soon!

    BTW, I’m Ella and I’m really looking forward to exploring your blog and getting to know you better with the SITS tribe this week and beyond!

  2. Oh my word!! They both sound amazing but the brown sugar one sounds so indulgent! I totally remember the old air popper that my Dad had growing up. Best way to pop popcorn!

    • My mom had one for the longest time and then one day it was just gone, I always kept putting off buying one and I am so excited that the hubby bought it for me!

Leave a Reply

